The Number of Geographic Area Codes in the United States

The Number of Geographic Area Codes in the United States

The United States of America is divided into regions known as Area Codes, which correspond to specific geographic telephone dialing areas, to assist the millions of phone users. Some low population states, such as Idaho and Montana, have only one area code, whereas others, such as California or New York, may have multiple area codes due to the requirement for millions of local landlines, cell phones, fax numbers, and business phone numbers.

The first North American area codes were issued on January 1, 1947, in areas where standard 7-digit dialing codes were expected to be exhausted the earliest. By appending a three-digit prefix to a seven-digit local number, hundreds of millions of new phone numbers can be issued. The North American Numbering Plan Administration (NANPA) is in charge of any new divisions or changes to existing area codes. B

Below is the USA area code by state:

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, and Vermont make up the Northeast United States.

Some of the major area codes in this region are marked on the map below. However, 57 area codes cover the entire Northeast region. New York leads the pack with 19 area codes, including important ones like 212 and 646, while states like New Hampshire, Maine, and Rhode Island each have only one.

Here is the complete list of area codes in the Northeast region:

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin make up the Midwestern United States (or North Central United States). This area is served by 79 different local area codes. Illinois has 14 area codes, Ohio has 13, and North Dakota and South Dakota each have one.

Here is the full list of area codes in Midwestern US:

The Southern United States, also known colloquially as the South, has the most states and area codes. This region includes 16 states (Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia) and 115 area codes! It is home to some well-known area codes, including 512 (Austin) and 281 (Houston).

Here is the complete list of area codes in the South:

The Rocky Mountains and the West Coast are found in the Western United States. It is made up of thirteen states, including Alaska and Hawaii. Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming are the other 11 states. The region is served by 68 area codes, 35 of which are from California. We had to dedicate two full rows of the table to accommodate all of them, as shown in the table below! Washington comes in second place with six area codes.

In addition, the area code for Washington, DC is not included in the list below. Area code 202, one of the original area codes established under the North American Numbering Plan in 1947, serves Washington, DC. If you need to contact the White House, you now know what area code to dial.

Bad jokes apart, here is the complete list of area codes in the Western United States:

800, 888, 877, 866, 855, 844 and 833

How many countries border with the US? What are they? Read on the article to know.

How many states in total in the United States of America, the big nation located on the continent of North America? Check out the answer …

With 50 states and other dependent areas, United States (US) has quite a big population in the world: 333,387,218 up to now. Here are the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.