Full List of Public Holidays In Australia in 2024

Full List of Public Holidays In Australia in 2024

Making travel plans around Australia’s public holidays will help you make the most of your well-earned time off.

You can take 17 days of annual vacation and spread it out to get 45 days off with proper planning starting next week.

Ten paid public holidays are observed throughout the year in Australia.

You can boost your yearly leave by arranging it to coincide with weekends and public holidays in January, April, June, and December. This will allow you to spend a greater time off work.

READ MORE: 12 Most Popular Holidays and Festivals in North Korea

There are a total of seven national public holidays in Australia during 2024:

Monday, 1 January 2024 – New Year’s Day

Friday, 26 January 2024 – Australia Day

Friday, 29 March 2024 – Good Friday

Monday, 1 April 2024 – Easter Monday

Thursday, 25 April 2024 – Anzac Day

Wednesday, 25 December 2024 – Christmas Day

Thursday, 26 December 2024 – Boxing Day

READ MORE: Top 15 Most Popular and Famous Festivals in Canada

Holidays in 2024 in Australia by months

Monday January 1: New Year’s Day

Friday January 26: Australia Day

Monday 29 January: Take day off

Monday 12 February: Royal Hobart Regatta (only observed in certain areas of the state)

March 2024

You can get a ten-day break over March and April (March 29 – April 7) by taking off four days in April.

Monday 4 March – Labour Day (Western Australia)

Monday 11 March – Adelaide Cup Day (South Australia subject to proclamation)

Monday 11 March: Canberra Day (ACT Only)

Monday 11 March – Labour Day (Victoria)

Friday 29 March: Good Friday

Saturday 30 March: Easter Saturday

Sunday 31 March: Easter Sunday

Monday 1 April: Easter Monday public holiday

Tuesday 2 April: Take day off

Wednesday 3 April: Take day off

Thursday 4 April: Take day off

Friday April 5: Take day off

Saturday 6 April: Weekend

Sunday 7 April: Weekend

Saturday 20 April: Weekend

Sunday 21 April: Weekend

Monday 22 April: Take day off

Tuesday 23 April: Take the day off

Wednesday 24 April: Take day off

Friday 26 April: Take the day off

Saturday 27 April: Weekend

Sunday 28 April: Weekend

Monday 6 May – Labour Day (Queensland)

Monday 6 May – May Day (NT)

Monday 27 May – Reconciliation Day (ACT)

Monday 10 June: King’s Birthday (ACT, NSW, NT, SA, and Tasmania)

Monday 3 June: Western Australia Day

No national public holidays

Monday 5 August: Picnic Day NT

Wednesday 14 August: Royal Queensland Show (Brisbane area only)

No national public holidays

Monday 7 October: Labour Day (SA, ACT)

Monday 7 October: King’s Birthday (QLD)

Monday 4 November: Recreation Day (areas of the state that don’t observe Royal Hobart Regatta)

Tuesday 5 November: Melbourne Cup

Monday 23 December: Take day off

Tuesday 24 December: Take day off

Wednesday 25 December – Christmas Day

Thursday 26 December – Boxing Day

Friday 27 December: Take day off

Saturday 28 December: Weekend

Sunday 29 December: Weekend

Monday 30 December: Take day off

Tuesday 31 December: Take day off

Wednesday 1 January: Public holiday

The option of working on a public holiday as an employee may exist based on your industry and kind of work arrangement. In such circumstances, it’s critical to understand your rights and entitlements.

Your rate of pay may change if you have to work on a public holiday based on a number of variables, such as your employment contract, the industry award or agreement that applies to your job, and the particulars of your employment. For working on public holidays, certain employees can be eligible for penalty rates or extra benefits, while others might just get their regular salary with other arrangements like time off in lieu of work.

It’s important to familiarize yourself with the applicable award or agreement that pertains to your role in order to make sure you understand your rights and entitlements. The committed staff at Agri Labour Australia is available to offer assistance and direction with regard to your particular work agreements and responsibilities.

Australia’s public holidays offer a chance to engage in local activities, discover customs, and fully embrace the lively culture of your surrounds. Don’t forget to celebrate those days by your own unique way.

Since December is the last month of celebrations in India, the festivities that take place during this time are especially meaningful to the locals. See …

Is 2024 the year you intend to visit Japan? If that’s the case, it can be helpful to be aware of when the public holidays …

Visiting Vietnam on public holidays, you will see the unusually quiet scene on the roads, unlike the daily chaos. Enjoy the vibrant life and traditional …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.